AGM Minutes 2023

1. Call to order

3:00 welcome by James Forrester and Michael Eamon – Opening and Land Acknowledgement 3:14 pm business portion

2. Chair's remarks (PP presentation)

<u>3. Approval of today's Agenda and the Minutes of the 2022 AGM</u> (posted to the PHS/HH website).

Motion: I move to approve both agenda and minutes of previous 2022 AGM.

Moved by: David Wesley Seconded by: Don Willcock Motion Carried

4. Election of the 2023 Peterborough Historical Society's Board of Directors

Motion: I move that the nominees for Directors of the Peterborough Historical Society, until the next Annual General Meeting or until their successors have been duly elected or appointed are: Linda Chandler; James Forrester; Amber Johnson; Paul Lumsden; Susan Matthews; Marilyn MacNaughton, Michael Peterman and Don Willcock.

Moved by: Gail Corbett Seconded by: David Wesley Discussion to clarify that the elected members are nominated, as well as into their position for this motion. Motion Carried

5. Acts of the Peterborough Historical Society Directors

Motion: I move that all acts, proceedings, contracts, by-laws, appointments, elections, payments and annual reports made, done and taken by the Directors and Officers of the Peterborough Historical Society since the last Annual General Meeting of the members, as recorded in the records of the Society and on its website, be approved, ratified and confirmed.

Moved by: Carol Koeslag Seconded by: Douglas Lavery Motion Carried

6. Financial Statements for 2022 (Tim Nichols)

Motion: I move that the Financial Statement of the Peterborough Historical Society for the year 2022 be approved.

Moved by: Paul Lumsden Seconded by: Don Willcock Discussion of transfer of Endowment and Maintenance fund to Community Futures. Motion Carried

7. Appointment of Accountants for 2023

Motion: I move that Tim Nicholls, Chartered Accountant, be appointed as chartered accountant of the Peterborough Historical Society until the next Annual General Meeting, or until his successor(s) is elected or appointed, at such remuneration as may be fixed by the Directors.

Moved by: Paul Lumsden Seconded by: Susan Jewell Motion Carried

8. Appointment of PHS Trustees

Motion: I move that the following members be appointed as Trustees of the Trust Funds (Endowment and Maintenance): Peter Darling, Dennis Carter-Edwards, Doug Lavery, Paul Lumsden, Marilyn MacNaughton and Dale Standen.

Moved by: Michael Peterman Seconded by: Bill Corbett Motion Carried

9. New business

Appreciation to last years board members; President Bob Taylor-Vaisey (January -November), James Forrester (December-Present), Vice-President Kathryn Matheson, Treasurer Lou MacLellan(January-September), Deborah Keay (September-Present), Secretary Dale Standen (April-December), Bulletin Chair Jodi Aoki (January-September), Ian Ellis (September-Present), PACAC Representative Deborah Keay, Bruce Clark (April-Present) Michael Peterman, Linda Chandler, James Cullingham.

10. Adjournment

Motion: I move that the 2023 Annual General Meeting be adjourned.

Moved by: Amber Johnson Adjourned 3:46pm