About Hutchison House
Hutchison House is one of the oldest limestone houses in Peterborough. It was built by the community in 1837 for Dr. John Hutchison, the city’s first resident physician. This was the first home in Upper Canada for Sir Sandford Fleming, a cousin of Dr. Hutchison, who immigrated in 1845, at the age of 18.
The Hutchison family lived in the house until 1847, when Dr. Hutchison died of typhus contracted from his patients. In 1851, the house was sold to James Harvey, a prominent local merchant and remained in the Harvey family until 1969, when it was willed to the Peterborough Historical Society.
The house was restored to the mid -1800s period and opened as Hutchison House Museum in 1978.
The museum is wheelchair accessible to the terrace, the historic 1840s open hearth kitchen, bookshop and accessible washroom. Although the upper floors are only accessible by stairs, visitors can enjoy a virtual guided tour of the upper floors.
The Hutchison House Museum is owned and operated by the Peterborough Historical Society.
Hutchison House accepts Canoo (formerly the Canadian Cultural Access Pass). Canoo is a free mobile app that helps new Canadian citizens celebrate their citizenship by providing free virtual and in-person admission to museums and historic sites across Canada. For more information visit: https://www.inclusion.ca/program/canoo/
Hutchison House is a member of the Kawartha Bingo Sponsors Association. Information on Bingo’s and events in support of local charities can be found on their website. Funds received through our participation with the Kawartha Bingo Sponsors Association helped to create this website.