Peterborough Historical Society logo

2010 PHS News & Events Archive

Renovations Improve Accessibility

Thanks to a significant grant from the Ontario Trillium Foundation and generous donations from members of the Peterborough Historical Society, Hutchison House Museum is now more accessible to people with physical disabilities.

The renovations were completed in May 2010. A wheelchair accessible parking space and ramp system make it easier for people to get to the terrace and main floor, including the original hearth kitchen.

Although it is not possible to provide accessibility to the upper two floors of the original 1837 stone house, visitors can enjoy a guided virtual tour by costumed volunteers.

Completion of the renovations was marked by a news conference on May 7th, 2010:

Left to right are Alan Wilson (representing Dean Deal Mastro), Mary Lavery, PHS President, Eileen Nolan OTF representative, Jeff Leal MPP and Mayor Paul Ayotte.
Left to right are Alan Wilson (representing Dean Deal Mastro), Mary Lavery, PHS President, Eileen Nolan OTF representative, Jeff Leal MPP and Mayor Paul Ayotte.

“We are grateful to the Ontario Trillium Foundation for enabling us to make these important improvements,” said Society President Mary Lavery. “Hutchison House is an irreplaceable local heritage resource and we are committed to making it more widely accessible to the entire community.”

Logo for the Ontario Trillium Foundation

Michael Townsend Memorial Walkway

Michael Townsend
Michael Townsend

As a lasting tribute to the late Michael Townsend for his enormous contribution to the Peterborough Historical Society and Hutchison House Museum, the new accessible ramp system will be dedicated to him. Michael was a Past President of PHS, Chair of the Museum Management Committee and a tireless leader in promoting greater access for people with disabilities. He passed away on May 26, 2010.A dedication ceremony will be held in spring 2011.

Jean Murray Cole Receives Provincial Award

Jean Murray Cole with the Lieutenant Governor of Ontario The Honourable David C. Onley.
Jean Murray Cole with the Lieutenant Governor of Ontario The Honourable David C. Onley.

The Peterborough Historical Society was pleased to nominate Jean Murray Cole for a 2010 Senior Achievement Award for her accomplishments since the age of 65 in the History and Arts/Literature categories. Jean is a long-time member of PHS and past chair of the Publications Committee. Her most noted recent accomplishment is the editing and production of Sir Sandford Fleming – His Early Diaries, 1845-1853 , published by Dundurn Press.

The Senior Achievement Award was presented to Jean Murray Cole by Ontario’s Lieutenant Governor Onley at Queens Park in October.

Winners of 2010 Heritage Awards

Each year, PHS presents Heritage Awards to local citizens who have made significant contributions to heritage conservation in the community.

The F.H. Dobbin Award acknowledges exceptional promotion of historical events, though publications, articles, photos or videos. The 2010 co-winners are Jean Murray Cole for her book “Sir Sandford Fleming – His early Diaries 1845 to 1853, and Heather Barker for the transcription of Dr. John Hutchison’s Birth Registry.

The Samuel Armour Award recognizes the involvement and exposure of students to local historical opportunities and/or development of curriculum based programs on local history. The 2010 winners are The Hutchison House Education Program Staff and Volunteers: volunteers Heather Barker, Betty Hinton, Carol Koeslag, Robert Laing, Marilyn MacNaughton, Norm Savage, Loretta Terry, Don Wilcox, and staff Gale Fewings and Erin Panepinto.

The J. Hampden Burnham Award is given to individuals, groups or organizations that establish a venue for public awareness of historical events, places or people. The 2010 winner is the Heritage Tree Project Committee: Peter Beales, Barb Boysen, Cathy Dueck, Geoff Eve, Chris Gooderham, Gavin Trevelyan, Andre Vaililee.

The George Cox Award is given for historical restoration or preservation of a Peterborough property (i.e. artifacts, structures, gardens, parks). The 2010 winner is Dr. Joanna Hamilton for the restoration of Dixon House.

Nominations for these awards are requested from the community in March .The winners are selected by an independent panel of judges.

Winners of 2010 Student History Awards

The Peterborough Historical Society History Award is presented each year to the graduating students who achieve the highest marks in history at participating Secondary Schools in Peterborough and the surrounding area:
Adam Scott Collegiate – Reid Taylor
Crestwood Secondary School – Stephanie McDonald and Kate Mallany
Holy Cross Secondary School – Alaxandra Hill
Kenner Collegiate – Lori Quinlan
Lakefield District Secondary School – Judith Shonbeck
Norwood Secondary School – Brian Bradshaw
Peterborough Collegiate and Vocation School – Brenda Mancini and Julian Tennant-Riddell
St. Peters Secondary School – Emily Coughlin
Thomas A Stewart Secondary School – Linda Burton